New Year’s Revolution

I’M SICK OF RESOLUTIONS!!!!!!!!!!

Seriously-I really am.

For quite some time now, I’ve forsaken the common practice of declaring a New Year’s Resolution for each burgeoning year.  Remember how your last resolution to improve your diet (and lose a few), was overtaken and brutally beaten to death by that apple pie craving?  How about that iron-clad resolve to improve your time management skills that gave up the ghost on the battlefield of procrastination?

Trust me; I have experienced my share of “resolution regret” over my lifetime.  I do, however, love to entertain the notion of intentional contemplation.  Goals are great, and I have nothing against them; but goals without achievable, corresponding tasks are like cars without engines.

So for me, this year marks the death of “resolution regret.”  I lay to rest the corpse of empty excitement, devoid of life-changing action.

As we straddle the threshold between 2014 and 2015, let’s start a New Year’s REVOLUTION!!!!

A revolution demands inward change, before outward change is manifested.  It’s not just a hypocritical, temporary feeling of “I’m going to…”  In my experience, as long as we remain in the “I’m going to…” mindset, nothing ever gets done.  A revolution starts deep within an individual, and like wildfire, it spreads to the hearts of other individuals.

That’s right…revolutions are contagious.

Resolutions affect only the person, revolutions affect the public.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m guilty of thinking too small.  Let’s not limit our potential to the little boxes of our New Year’s Resolutions.  Instead, let us look out over the landscape of our lives and our communities to assess the possibilities that exist, by touching the lives of other people.  We are so much bigger than the commitments that we make to ourselves.  We were meant to deposit something great in this earth; a contribution that speaks to the fact that we were here, and we lived our lives intentionally and in High-Def.

Change is only the beginning.  It begins with us, but it should never end in us.  In the words of French Poet, Alphonse de Lamartine:

 “Private passions tire and exhaust themselves, public ones never do.” (Alphonse de Lamartine~~1790-1869)

Happy New Year…and let the revolution begin!


As always, thank you for visiting Wisdom’s Quill. See you soon.

Keep Learning ♦ Keep Loving ♦ Keep Living

Editor: Jaime Evans

BE

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Revolution

  1. I don’t quite get new year’s resolutions. If you want to change, change now. Why wait for new year to come? I don’t have resolutions. At least, not serious ones that I go pushing in other people’s faces.

    Like

  2. Not agreeing. Resolutions are good if we keep them. Its just a way to find motivation within yourself. I always thought new year resolution is a cliche thing…so never was into all that. But this time round my blogging needed a restart…Since new year, posting a day alright hence…and want to keep it up. Rest I dunno…

    Like

    • Why hello, Arundhati!!! Congrats on the daily posting, sounds like you’re already off to a great start. I partly agree with you in that resolutions can be a good thing, however, if no inward change has first taken place, then the resolution in itself breeds regret, don’t you think? More power to ya if you can indeed follow through.
      BE

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

