Turbulence: A Sign of Your Elevation

The first time I stepped on an airplane, I was bound for Miami, FL, on my way to what would be an incredible family vacation.  It was a beautiful, partly-cloudy day with pristine skies; a perfect day for flying.  As I stood gazing out of the airport window, I was overwhelmed by the sheer immensity of the aircraft as it approached the gate to receive its passengers.  I was so nervous, I could feel my heart pounding in my throat.  It was frightening and exciting all at the same time.

I sat down in my window seat, fastened my seat belt, and eagarly endured all of the pre-flight checks.  I was ready for my first flight…

…Or so I thought.

As the plane began its taxi in preparation for take-off, the deafening shrill of the jet engines penetrated the plane’s cabin as we rounded the runway to position number one.  The captain’s voice calmly flowed through the speakers informing us that we had been cleared for take-off.  A few seconds later, the engines fired up and before I knew it, I was pinned to my seat as the plane catapulted down the runway at a furious speed.  I could feel the G-Forces pressing against my chest as the front of the plane tilted upward and took to the skies.

As I looked out of my window, the ground fell away, and the cars grew smaller and smaller until they were completely out of sight.  Ultimately, we ascended to about 35,000 feet and leveled out in smooth flight.  The snow-white clouds beneath us were like huge, fluffy pillows suspended in the sky.  Everything was so quiet and still in the cabin, I wondered if we were moving at all.

Then…that’s when it happened!

All of a sudden, the plane started to shake and shift violently in mid-air.  My question whether we were moving or not was horrifically answered.  I felt the drops and dips of the plane in the pit of my stomach as we encountered what is known as Clear-Air Turbulence (CAT).  I thought my heart was going to jump out of my chest.  All I could think about was how high up we were.  At 35,000 feet, I gripped the armrest, and held on for dear life.  As I looked around, I noticed that the more experienced flyers were strangely calm.  Some were even sleeping.  I wondered to myself how they could remain so poised while we were being tossed around thousands of feet above the ground.

Just before I went into all-out panic mode, the captain’s voice came across the intercom very nonchalantly saying:

“Hi folks, looks like we’re experiencing some rough air.  I’m going to change altitudes to see if I can find some smoother air.  Buckle your seat belts and bear with me until we level out.”

At that point, the plane began an upward thrust, and in a few minutes, the shaking stopped, and all was calm again.

 

 God, The Almighty Pilot

Our lives are much like flying in an airplane at 35,000 feet.  God will sometimes allow us to hit a rough patch to shake us up a little.  When we’re navigating through this life, there are times when we get comfortable and forget that we were destined to lead lives of greatness, significance, and productivity.  We were created to serve in the capacity which God has ordained for us, thereby leaving a legacy in the earth long after we are gone.

We are ambassadors for Christ 2 Corinthians 5:20.  This world is not our final destination.  We are in flight to another place; another world.  Not only that, but we should live our lives in constant pursuit of God, who ushers us to higher altitudes in Him 2 Corinthians 3:18.  So you should never get too comfortable in the current state that you’re in.  Always expect more.

I believe that turbulence is designed to be a reminder that we are en route to the next level of our lives. The altitude at which you’re flying may not be sufficient for you any longer.  Maybe you’ve outgrown the job you’re in, or the group of people you’ve been hanging around, and you’re starting to experience some type of turbulence in your life.  Maybe you’re experiencing some rough air in your health or your finances.  Take this opportunity to seek God for direction, because quite often the turbulence is a sign that you’re on Heaven’s docket for elevation and promotion.  One of my favorite Bible verses is 2 Corinthians 4:17:

For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory.

When God has elevation planned for you, trouble tends to always preceed your promotion.  However, rest assured, there is another level of glory just waiting for you on the other side of that rough air.  God is preparing to take you to greater heights, and the turbulence is your cue to go ahead and check your attitude, and start expecting a change in your altitude.

When turbulence hits, many times the only thing you can do is just ride it out.  As difficult as this may be, faith and patience becomes the keys to receiving the blessing.  Hebrews 6:12 reminds us that this is how we inherit the promises of God.

The more frequently I travelled by air, the more I started to realize that turbulence was just a part of flying.  Now that I understand a little more about what turbulence is, I understand why the people on my very first flight were able to remain so calm during the shaking.  Now, I’ve turned into one of those calm flyers.  When turbulence hits, I just keep my seat belt buckled and just ride it out.  Even though the turbulence may seem extreme, and your faith may be rattled, remember who is piloting your life.

Be encouraged my friends.  The turbulence that you’re experiencing is only temporary.  It won’t last forever.  In fact, The Almighty Pilot,  just may be preparing to elevate you to a new altitude in Him.

Buckle up, and ride it out…

ELEVATION IS ON THE WAY.

As always, thank you for visiting Wisdom’s Quill.  See you soon.

 BE

Editor: Jaime Evans

 

6 thoughts on “Turbulence: A Sign of Your Elevation

Leave a Reply

