A Tribute To My Mother

In observance of Mother’s Day 2014, I decided to do something a little different.  This time around, I wasn’t cumbered by following a formal outline.  I am writing this straight from my heart.  This post is dedicated to my amazing mother, Gale Evans.
 Mom, this post is for you.

 

What would my life be like if you were not my mother?

For me, this is a sobering question.  The fact is, I couldn’t imagine my life without you in it.  From the time I was born until this very day, you have been a rock of support and a model of unwavering love.  I would not be the man, husband, or friend that I am today, if it wasn’t for your relentless love.

It’s amazing how the words of wisdom that you invested in me long ago are still yielding a return in my life today.  I’ve observed the incredible strength that you have exhibited through the vicissitudes of your life.  It has taught me to never give up, to always hope, and to always take advantage of every opportunity to render love freely.

Growing up I often questioned your wisdom.  In my bliss of ignorance, I thought I had it all figured out.  Sure…one aspect of maturity is learning how to fly on your own; however, there is another aspect that acknowledges and gleans from the wisdom in others.

I thank God everyday for you, Mom.  I’m so grateful I still have you in my life.  I am one of the fortunate souls to have been born to such a great and highly favored woman of God.

Please humor me as I express my gratitude.

Mom, thank you:

  1. for your love,
  2. for your sacrifice,
  3. for your patience,
  4. for your prayers,
  5. for your listening ear,
  6. for your gentle guidance,
  7. for your faith in God,
  8. for your belief in me,
  9. for all the other things that this list could not contain.
  10. Oh, yeah…thanks for not taking my life that time I thought I could snatch the belt from you when you were dealing out just punishment for my wrong doing…LOL.

 

Through all of the years and the tears, I hope you can look at the man that I’ve become and sincerely say to yourself,

“It was worth it all.”

Mom, I love you more than you may ever know.

Happy Mother’s Day!

As always, thank you for visiting Wisdom’s Quill.  See you soon!

BE

 

2 thoughts on “A Tribute To My Mother

  1. Hey Brian:
    You made me cry buddy! Your blog touched my heart! I loved it and I read it everyday! You, Kendra and my grand babies are my world, and I thank God everyday for giving you all to me. I am, always was and always will be proud, and thankful to God, for the awesome man that you’ve become! With all my love, Mom!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

