Shimmering Salutations

Hello, Sun

I almost didn’t recognize you

It’s been awhile since I’ve seen you

My goodness, you haven’t aged at all

You look the same as I last remember

Me? Not much has changed

I’ve grown a little since I’ve seen you last

In whatever state I’m in

I’ve learned to be content

Even if it means

Not seeing you for a stint

The illusion of pain

Caused by the rain

Produces the grain that feeds hungry brains

So I’ve learned to need the rain

Although I must say

I love the way you shower me with gifts in spring

You spread diamonds across the tops of oceans and seas

For all to see

As they shimmer with infatuation

From the gaze of your attention

And it’s all beautiful to me.

BE

Copyright Symbol black Copyright March 2014, Brian Evans for Wisdom’s Quill

2 thoughts on “Shimmering Salutations

Leave a Reply

