The Anatomy of a Promise

When I was a child, Saturday in my household was our family-fun day.  My mother would take my sister and I to run wild and play until our hearts were content.  We would go bowling, skating, to the state fair, to the park, to visit family, and tons of other amusements.  We would get super excited when Saturday would finally arrive, because we had something fun to look forward to.  Sometimes, extenuating circumstances would arise and spoil our fun day.  My mother would try her best to expain why we had to postpone our anticipated adventures.  Even though we tried to be understanding, the disappointment of expectations turned upside down would sometimes overwhelm our intellect, causing exteme bouts of pouting.  However, much to my delight, all was not lost.  As fate would have it, one day I discovered a powerful secret; one that I would like to share with you now.

 

The Power of the Promise

I know your ears are burning to know my secret…right?  Well, here it is:

I learned that when my mother promised us a weekend adventure, she took her word very seriously.  She was literally bound by her promise to take us to have our fun-filled day.  Once I discovered this secret, I would try to coerce my mother into making us a promise early in the week in order to cash in on that Saturday’s escapade. 

As I grew older (and wiser) I learned how promises really work.  I also learned that even my mother’s promises, as golden as they were, had their limitations.  Sometimes it would rain on the day that we planned to be outside.  At other times, my mother would fall ill and would have to take a raincheck on our weekend fun. 

As humans, when we make promises, they sometimes fall prey to circumstantial occurences. 

Enter the contingency.

A contingency is something that may happen, but isn’t certain to occur.  In other words, it’s plan B…or C…or D.  A contingency allows room for things we can’t control.  Therefore, the power of our promise is limited by the unknown.  Eventually my mother developed a strategy of her own, and started presenting the contingencies of  her promises to my sister and I.  If we planned an outdoor activity and there was rain in the forecast, either a contingency was presented or the fun day was postponed to a later time.

 

Contingency vs. Condition

God’s promises are not based on contingencies, but rather on conditions.  Contingencies preserve the integrity of our promises by providing other options.  Sometimes, contingencies are abused.  We’ve all been exposed to abused contingencies.  They’re called excuses.  Do you know a person that always makes promises, but seldomly fulfills them?  These types of people frequently make excuses and present weak, watered-down contingencies after the apparent failure. 

Not so with God.

Because God cannot lie, He doesn’t need a “just in case” contingency plan.  He doesn’t have to say, “I’m going to bless you, Brian…I promise.”  When He declares a thing, it instantaneously and automatically becomes truth right then and there.  As a result, once a condition has been attached to that truth, it immediately becomes a promise.   Furthermore, when it comes to the promises of God, He has placed certain demands on us to meet explicit conditions in order to activate those promises.

A condition is defined as a premise upon which the fulfillment of an agreement depends. 

Please allow me to wax scientific for a moment.

Generally speaking, there are two types of motive energy. 

  1. Kinetic Energy– Energy associated with motion
  2. Potential Energy– Energy based on the position or arrangement of an object

Picture this:

An arrow is positioned in an archer’s bow.  It is highly unlikely that the arrow by itself would be capable of dealing a lethal wound.  It must be acted upon in some way if it is to be directed toward its target.  As the archer pulls the string back, the energy in the archer’s arm acts on the bow as the arrow is drawn back with the string.  When the string is released, the energy stored in the bow (potential energy) transfers to the arrow through the string which sends it flying with great force (kinetic energy). 

The promises of God work in similar fashion.  God has attached conditions to his promissory words, and those conditions are potential energy.  Once we act on the promise, and meet the appropriate conditions, our action sends the promise into motion causing manifestation.  That’s why the words we speak (and our actions) are like triggers. It is so important to monitor what we say and do if we expect to walk in true power and favor.  Time after time I have struggled with saying the wrong things, via complaining or “venting,” instead of just simply activating God’s word.   

In essence, the promises of God are just waiting for the right person with the right amount of faith to come along and activate them by saying and/or doing the right things.

Will that person be YOU?

Ready, Aim, Fire!

 

As always, thank you for visiting Wisdom’s Quill.  See you soon.

BE

 

6 thoughts on “The Anatomy of a Promise

  1. Absolutely amazing! The inspiration that these words give brings tears to my eyes.. It inspires me to continue to press and not give up, bc I know the promises of God are already mine..

    Amazing!!
    God Bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

